ELIGIBLE UK RESEARCH ORGANISATIONS

All UK universities recognised by the UK are eligible to apply for Newton Fund grants.

The following listed **not-for-profit UK research organisations** are also eligible to apply as Lead Institutions under the Newton Institutional Links and Researcher Links Programme¹.

A full listing of official recognised UK universities can be found here https://www.gov.uk/check-a-university-is-officially-recognised/recognised-bodies

Please note that where organisations have both for-proft and not-for-profit arms, it must be clear that the Newton Fund grant is benefitting only the not-for-profit arm of the organisation.

- Agri-Food and Biosciences Institute Northern Ireland (AFBI)
- All NHS Trust and NHS hospital research departments
- Alliance of Religions and Conservation (ARC)
- Amgueddfa Cymru National Museum Wales
- Animal and Plant Health Agency
- Animal Health and Veterinary Laboratories Agency (AHVLA)
- Animal Health Trust
- Armagh Observatory
- Arts Council England
- Arts Council of Northern Ireland
- Arts Council of Wales
- Ashridge
- Babraham Institute
- Beatson Institute
- Biomathematics and Statistics Scotland (BioSS)
- British Antarctic Survey (BAS)
- British Film Institute
- British Geological Survey (BGS)
- British Institute of International and Comparative Law
- British Library
- British Museum
- British Trust for Ornithology
- CABI Bioscience UK Centre
- Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre
- Cambridge International Examinations
- Cancer Research UK institutes
- Carbon Trust (not-for-profit arm only)
- Catapult Centres

_

¹ The list includes Public Sector Research Establishments affiliated with UK Government Departments and Research Councils; Independent Research Organisations recognised by Research Councils UK; and research organisations funded by the Scottish Government.

- Centre for Ecology and Hydrology (CEH)
- Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture (Cefas)
- Chatham House
- Clinical Sciences Centre (CSC)
- Creative Scotland
- Daresbury Laboratory (DL)
- Defence Science and Technology Laboratory (DSTL)
- Diamond Light Source Ltd
- Earlham Institute (previously The Genome Analysis Centre (TGAC))
- East Malling Research
- European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI)
- English Heritage
- European Southern Observatory
- European Synchrotron Radiation Facility
- Forestry Commission Research Agency
- Fisheries Research Services (FRS)
- Forensic Science Service (FSS)
- Francis Crick Institute
- Game and Wildlife Conservation Trust
- Glasgow School of Art (The)
- Health and Safety Laboratory (HSL)
- Health Protection Agency (HPA)
- HR Wallingford Group Ltd
- Hydrographics Office
- James Hutton Institute
- Imanova Limited
- Imperial War Museum
- Institute for European Environmental Policy
- Institute for Fiscal Studies
- Institute of Development Studies (IDS)
- Institute of Food Research (see Quadram Institute Bioscience)
- Institute of Occupational Medicine
- International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED)
- Isis Innovation
- James Hutton Institute
- John Innes Centre
- Laboratory of Molecular Biology (LMB)
- Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine (LSTM)
- Marine Biological Association
- Marine Fisheries Agency (MFA)
- Michael Palin Centre for Stammering Children
- Moredun Research Institute
- MRC Centre for Regenerative Medicine (based at University of Edinburgh)
- Museum Libraries and Archives Council
- Museum of London Archaeology

- National Archives
- National Botanic Garden of Wales / Gardd Fotaneg Genedlaethol Cymru
- National Centre for Social Research
- National Galleries of Scotland
- National Gallery
- National Institute for Biological Standards and Control (NIBSC)
- National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE), including NICE International
- National Institute of Agricultural Botany
- National Institute of Economic and Social Research
- National Library of Scotland
- National Museum Wales
- National Museums Liverpool
- National Museums of Scotland
- National Oceanography Centre (NOC)
- National Parks
- National Physical Laboratory
- National Police Improvement Agency (NPIA)
- National Portrait Gallery
- Natural History Museum
- Overseas Development Institute (ODI)
- Pharmacy Research UK (PRUK)
- Pirbright Institute (formerly Institute for Animal Health)
- Plymouth Marine Laboratories
- Proudman Oceanographic Laboratory
- Public Health England (PHE)
- Quadram Institute Bioscience (formerly Institute of Food Research)
- RAND Europe Community Interest Company
- Rothamsted Research
- Rowett Institute of Nutrition and Health
- Royal Botanic Garden, Edinburgh
- Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
- Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland
- Royal Museums Greenwich (formerly known as the National Maritime Museum)
- Royal Society for the Protection of Birds
- Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (includes Chilbolton) (RAL)
- Science Museum Group (formerly known as the National Museum of Science and Industry)
- Scotland's Rural College (SRUC)
- Scottish Arts Council
- Scottish Association for Marine Science (SAMS)
- Scottish Institute for Research in Economics (SIRE)
- Sir Alister Hardy Foundation for Ocean Sciences
- Sir John Soane's Museum
- Sport England
- Tate Galleries

- Tavistock Institute
- The Alan Turing Institute
- The Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes (ING)
- The Joint Astronomy Centre (JAC)
- The Met Office
- The Open University
- The National Maritime Museum
- The Natural History Museum
- The Sainsbury Laboratory (TSL)
- The Victoria and Albert Museum
- The Welding Institute (TWI)
- The Young Foundation
- Transport Research Laboratory
- TWI Ltd
- UK Atomic Energy Authority
- UK Film Council
- Veterinary Medicines Directorate (VMD)
- Wallace Collection
- Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
- World Conservation Monitoring Centre
- Zoological Society of London, Institute of Zoology

Should your research organisation not be on this list, please contact us via <u>UK-InstitutionalLinks@britishcouncil.org</u> before submitting a proposal to this Programme.

In addition to the organisations listed above all UK universities recognised by the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS) are eligible to apply for Newton Fund grants. Please refer to the following link for a list of eligible institutions https://www.gov.uk/check-a-university-is-officially-recognised/recognised-bodies